I got an interesting message on Facebook about this blog. Apparently, someone thinks that what I write is inappropriate. To them I say (and did say), suck it up princess. It did lead me to thinking that some people may just not "get" me. So here is a FAQ about me, my blog and my life. (And the frequently part of the FAQ means the entire one person who asked if me and the kids are really like this in real life while telling me that my blog should be more kid friendly since her kids have access to it. Sadly, we are no longer Facebook friends.)
Who the hell are you anyway?
I am Sara. My oldest daughter's friends call me your Majesty. (No lie. Once her friends asked me if my name was Sara and I said it is and then told them "but you can call me your Majesty". And they did.) My life has had more downs than ups and so I have made this blog to make fun of my everyday life as well as the tragedies. I have narcolepsy as well as a mental illness I inherited from my father. Maybe that's why I have a different sense of humour. I always danced to the beat of my own drum as a kid and I don't see why that should be different as an adult.
Who the hell would marry you anyway?
That would be Kevin. We were married August 23rd, 1997 and still remain married today. In 2007, Kevin was rushed to the hospital in the wee hours of the morning after suffering a seizure. Actually, he suffered two that day but I was working nights during the first one. At the hospital, they discovered a growth in his brain called an AVM. He is a special case because of the location, size and symptoms that accompanied his AVM. When you are sick, you don't want to be a special case. Kevin and I have a great relationship and say that we're lucky we found each other because no one else would want us.
Who the hell are Kid1, Kid2, Kid3 and Kid4
Kid1 is Lilly. She was born in November 1999 (do the math to figure out her age, you lazy bastards!)
Kid2 is Madeleine. She was born December 2001.
Kid3 is Victoria. She was born May 2004.
Kid4 is Rosemary. She was born January 2006.
Do you really call them Kid1, Kid2, Kid3 and Kid4?
Yes, yes we do. We originally called them Kid One of Four, Kid Two of Four, Kid Three of Four and Kid Four of Four ('cause we're geeks like that) but it just evolved to Kid1, Kid2, Kid3 and Kid4. It goes like this. Me: "Kevin, you take Kid2 and Kid3 to their doctor's appointment and I'll take Kid1 and Kid4 grocery shopping." Or for when those times when you just can't get the name right. "Lil-er_Madel-er-Rose. UGH! Kid3, come here!"
Do you really swear that much?
No.
Seriously?
Seriously.
I don't believe you.
Well, fuck you then. I don't swear that much, but I am a huge fan of hyperbole and sarcasm (I use hyperbole, like, eight thousand times a day) and think the written word can be entertaining when those two are used in combination with the unexpected (like a five year old dropping the f-bomb). But, be warned that when you come over to hang out and we play video games, I swear like a mother-fucking trucker then.
Do your kids really swear like that?
No they don't. I don't swear around my kids (even when playing video games, my swear word then is "frig-a-ma-jig!") and so they never picked up the habit from me. I think they need to understand context first and so I keep it clean around them.
What colour is your hair?
I'm a natural red head.
So there you go. Me and this blog in a nutshell because one person thought that they shouldn't police their kid's activity on the internet but that the internet should bend to her whims. I think I'll post some hallowe'en hi-jinks tomorrow. I did promise some people a picture.
Wow, some people need to get a life! You are absolutely perfectly imperfect. And that is why we love you :)
ReplyDelete